ASTAP: Expert Group Bridging the Standardization Gap (EG BSG)


Recognising Resolution 123 (PP-14, Busan) and Resolution 44 (WTSA-12, Dubai) , the purpose of the EG BSG is to:

  • Identify which ITU-T Recommendations would benefit from the development of ITU-T Guides to assist developing countries in applying ITU-T Recommendations (with emphasis on more recent Recommendations),
  • raise awareness on bridging the standardization gap,
  • provide a mechanism to encourage implementation of bridging the standardization gap initiatives,
  • promote initiatives and cooperation in bridging standardization gap,
  • compile information on bridging the standardization gap and the work of ASTAP working groups on this issue,
  • promote use-cases of ICT applications to be applicable in the rural areas of the developing countries,
  • assist preparations for WTSA on bridging the standardization gap issues if required.



  • Developing inputs to the APT preparatory processes for TSAG, WTSA and PP; liaising as necessary with the APT preparatory processes for the ITU-D Sector. Such inputs can include:
    • to identify specific requirements and needs, especially in rural areas, of developing countries in developing new ITU-T Recommendations and revising existing ITU-T Recommendations.
    • to identify a mechanism for the ITU-T to enable it to capture the requirements of developing countries. This includes proposing or modifying new Study Questions.
  • Proposing regional initiatives/recommendations and programs to assist in bridging the standardization gap.
  • Developing guidelines to assist developing countries in their involvement in standardization process at regional and international level
  • Develping handbooks/guidelines for developing countries that help bridging the standardization gap such as: implementation of use-cases of ICT application to be applicable in the rural areas, guidelines on how to apply ITU-T recommendations in particular recommendations having regulatory and policy implications.

Mrs. Nguyen Thi Khanh Thuan,
Ministry of Information and Communications, Socialist Republic of Vietnam

Mr. Seok Kyu Kang,
Telecommunication Technology Association, Republic of Korea

Dr. Hideyuki Iwata, NTT Corporation, Japan

Last updated on 08/12/2017
Copyright © 2017 All Rights Reserved.